The veil is thin…

Beautiful tree at the EarthRise Center in Petaluma, CA, where I spent the past weekend with UU ministerial colleagues for our bi-annual regional meeting.

Beautiful tree at the EarthRise Center in Petaluma, CA, where I spent the past weekend with UU ministerial colleagues for our bi-annual regional meeting.

We are in that seasonal transition time….this harvest time, this time of approaching winter and darkness that traditions throughout the world have honored.  I have to admit that living amidst vast agricultural land certainly changes my sense of harvest time– finally, I think I have wiped off the last of almond and walnut dust! In just a few weeks (November 2nd), daylight savings time ends and our evenings will be much darker. Ug.  And I as start thinking about holiday rituals, I realize this will be the first time in many years my brother and I will not be balancing on the ends of furniture to put up the Christmas lights because he has moved back to the East Coast.  As the Gaelic and neo-pagan traditions teach us (thank you to Avonelle and her pagan group for their worship leadership this past Sunday!)  this time of year the veil is thin–between past and future, alive and dead. It is a time of harvest and a time for reflection.  And….Go Giants! (though I would have far preferred to be rooting for the Oakland A’s in the series….)

Leave a Reply

