Gratitude Schmatitude

I heard someone say about gratitude: if you cannot feel grateful for the things you have, then how about trying to feel grateful for the things you do not have?  Walking my dog this morning along the irrigation canal in back of my apartment, I was remembering when I was on crutches last spring and how challenging it was try to move short distances. So today, I can feel grateful for NOT being on crutches!

Foggy morning walk along the canal

Foggy morning walk along the canal

If life is hard right now, then go ahead and say “gratitude schmatitude”– allowing ourselves to feel our feelings and be authentic is important.  And when you have given yourself space to feel, perhaps then try to think about how much worse it could be.  And maybe then you can hit something like gratitude. And if not, that’s okay too.

Blessings on this Thanksgiving and may this holiday time be whatever you need it to be!

As a reminder, the church office will be closed for the Thanksgiving Holiday this Thursday and Friday.  Ted Pack will be leading worship on Sunday Nov 30th– only one service this Sunday at 10am!   I will be taking some down time for the holiday but be available for pastoral emergencies. You can reach me on my cell phone.

 

Leave a Reply

