Beauty and Function

As I chatted with my parents the other night, listening to them talk about the sub-zero

Look at this butterfly I chased down in the orchard!

Look at this butterfly I chased down in the orchard!

temperatures and piles of snow, I stared out across the orchards around my house.  I shared with them how magical the blooming orchards were but a different kind of beauty than the Upstate New York woods I played in growing up.  Unlike the wildness of those

woods, these orchards were ordered and functional– human created and ordered, spaced to allow agricultural machines to harvest the nuts.   There is something in that tension of the magical beauty and the functional precision of the orchards.  And when the machines come shaking and sweeping through in August, I won’t be waxing so poetic about the orchards then.  I think churches are like orchards– beautiful and yet (hopefully!) functional.

That's my house in the distance!

That’s my house in the distance!

I look forward to worshiping with you this Sunday: Giving Up, Giving In, Giving Over.
How can we UUs could engage with the Christian community’s spiritual practice of Lent– what does it mean to promise to give something up? To give ourselves over?

Leave a Reply

