The Quality of Your Approach

In a meeting this week, we started off with this reading from John O’Donohue’s Beauty: The Invisible Embrace:

What you encounter, recognize or discover depends to a large degree on the quality of your approach. Many of the ancient cultures practiced careful rituals of approach. An encounter of depth and spirit was preceded by careful preparation.

After our slowed down summer time months at UUFSC, we are approaching the time of

Almonds ready to be harvested- the shake and sweep is about to begin!

Almonds ready to be harvested- the shake and sweep is about to begin!

starting another church year.  How are you feeling about it? What are you expecting? What is the quality of your approach?  For me, I can only truly answer these questions after I give myself some space for a little prayer, a little meditation, and a little reflection.  Then I can get in touch with the true ‘quality of my approach.’   And with a little more prayer and meditation, I might even be able to shift my quality of approach, if that is what I think would be most healthy.

I look forward to worshiping with you this Sunday.  I will lead worship with Matthew Mason and Angel Holmes:  Play With Your Food. Do struggle with what you eat? Do you think you should eat differently? Come join Rev. Darcy as she plays with our food.

Leave a comment