If only life could be a little more tender….

“If only life could be a little more tender and art a little more robust.” -Alan Rickman

“I don’t know where I am going from here, but I promise it won’t be boring.” – David Bowie

This week, we lost two artists whose work many people felt connected to and enriched by.  As one friend put it “screw cancer.”

IMG_20160113_161633463_HDR copy

Bill Greer’s Straw Mat Garden in Winter

 

Of the various quotes people have been sharing from Bowie and Rickman, these two above are my favorite.  In the past few months, as part of my spiritual practice, I’ve been  begun practicing more mindfulness and self-compassion.  My toes squinch as I write this– self-compassion, that sounds so mushy gushy. I want to be cool, intellectual, and tough….but actually, not really.   And I don’t want you to be either!  Fortunately, for my “cool and intellectual side”, there are researchers like Brene Brown and Kristin Neff, who offer us science to confirm that , indeed, it is a good and empirically valid idea to be compassionate to others AND ourselves.

I want life to be a little more tender–perhaps our church could be a slice of the world where we practice being more tender with ourselves and one another, a place where we are okay not knowing where we are going but are excited because we know it won’t be boring.

I look forward to worshiping with you call this Sunday: Falling Apart, Coming Back Together–Many times in our lives, things just fall apart. It can be scary, overwhelming.  And yet, we humans also figure out how to piece things back together.  Worship Leaders: Rev. Darcy and Sharon Arpoika

First Session of “Gifts of Imperfection” Book Study This Sunday

I will be leading a book-study on Brene Brown’s book “Gifts of Imperfection: Let Go of Who You Think You Are Supposed to Be and Embrace Who You Are.” We will meet after church, 12:15pm- 1:45pm, on these Sundays: January 17th, January 31st, February 21st, and March 6th. RSVPs are appreciated, drop-ins are welcome.

You should purchase your own copy of the book and come to the January 17th meeting having read up until page 49.   Please bring snacks and sandwiches to share!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

