Bending the Arc

“I do not pretend to understand the moral universe; the arc is a long one, my eye reaches but little ways; I cannot calculate the curve and complete the figure by the experience of sight; I can divine it by conscience. And from what I see I am sure it bends towards justice.”  19th century Unitarian minister and abolitionist Rev. Theodore Parker

This Sunday, I will be joined in the pulpit by two community organizers: Homero Mejia from Faith in Stanislaus and Na’ama Firestone from Bend the Arc (a Jewish bay area community organizing group).  Na’ama first contacted me shortly after the inauguration and was interested (like many individuals and groups in the Bay Area) at helping to elect a democrat to our congressional seat in 2018.   In our first conversation, I asked her if she knew the story behind the quote for which her organization was named.  She said she knew it was a Martin Luther King Jr. quote.   And then I shared how King was drawing from the Unitarian minister Theodore Parker.

IMG_20170604_164831564

Cannot help myself–here is my staking out a table for the Warriors last Sunday…go Warriors, a team who is good at connections!

We are connected in ways we are not aware of.  Spirituality is about becoming aware of all of our connections, aware of our deep interdependence on one another and the universe.  In the wake of the November election, one of the blessings is growing awareness and interest in these connections.   Political representation is so important and I expressed my hope to Na’ama that perhaps this was an opportunity to forge more connections, more relationships–no just “flip” the seat.  After connecting Na’ama with Homero Mejia, our local community organizer, they asked if UUFSC would host a community organizing gathering.  I spoke to several of you, asking for your feedback/insight– thank you! Your input shaped what has come to fruition, particularly the enthusiasm and energies of Tracy H., Adlai F, Susan P. and Susan D. UUFSC is hosting about 40 people this Sunday afternoon, representing diverse faith communities to see how we can have each other’s backs in these uncertain political times.  If you would like to join this gathering as a witness/observer, please let me know! Through our connections and relationships, we can lend our weight to bending the moral arc!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

